Repository concepts

The term repository concept refers to the planning and design of a repository for radioactive waste. This concerns the phases of repository construction, emplacement operation and closure of the open cavities. The repository concept must be defined specifically for the respective host rock. This applies in particular to the selection of repository containers, the arrangement and location of drift and shaft seals, or the sealing and backfilling material to be used.

For this conference topic, too, it is planned to address current scientific results in the form of short presentations and/or posters. Among others, the following aspects will be addressed:

  • Development of technical concepts for host-rock-specific repository containers
  • Emplacement and sealing concepts for different host rocks
  • Operational safety analyses / further development of systematic accident analyses
  • Concretisation of repository concepts in the course of the site selection procedure (preliminary safety studies)
  • Identification, quantification and evaluation of uncertainties

We invite expert colleagues to submit a short description of their planned conference contributions addressing one (or more) of the above topics for all relevant host rocks and their surrounding formations in Europe (i.e. crystalline rock, clay rock or clay shale and salt).

Ihr Ansprechpartner für inhaltliche Fragen

Dr. Klaus Baier
Lehrstuhl für Ingenieurgeologie und Hydrogeologie | RWTH Aachen University
Lochnerstraße 4 – 20 | D-52064 Aachen
Tel.: +49 (0)241 80-96771
Fax: +49 (0)241 80-92280

Ihr Ansprechpartner in organisatorischen Angelegenheiten

Julia Backhaus
RWTH International Academy
Campus-Boulevard 30 | D-52074 Aachen
Tel.: +49 (0)241 80-97861
Fax: +49 (0)241 80-92525

Weitere Ansprechpartner für inhaltliche Fragen

Endlagerkonzepte: Prof. Dr. Klaus Fischer-Appelt (

Sicherheitsanalysen: Prof. Dr. Klaus Fischer-Appelt (

Geoprozesse: Prof. Dr. Klaus Reicherter (

THCM: Prof. Dr. Florian Amann (

BGE: Team Gremienbegleitung der STA, Dr. Esther Neye (